top of page

From Zero to Extended Planks in 25 Years

In November of 2017, I was laid off from my job of 20 years. But because I had been using fitness as a

way to make money, as well as keep me healthy, I had an opportunity to move forward into a new career and life.

As a teenager, I did not consider myself athletic. My brothers carried that title (they had earned it). They were both avid sports junkies...played hockey, football, soccer, etc. They were especially good at hockey. My parents were very proud of them...and rightly so. When I was younger, I danced, and played basketball and softball, but I was never very good at any of them. In fitness challenges at school I often struggled. By the time I was in my early teens, and wanting to be unique, I basically did the opposite of my brothers. I quit doing any sort of physical activity. My behaviour didn't get the same proud response from my parents, and did very little for my self-esteem.

One of my coping mechanisms for lack of self-esteem was food. For me, food equalled love. It was never a dangerous addiction, nor would I have called myself unhealthy. My strong family bonds kept me from doing anything too serious. But food was my comfort.

I spent many years living this way. Lots of yo-yo dieting, poor choices, risky behaviour, and low self-esteem. It wasn't until I found myself in an abusive relationship that I realized just how bad it could actually get.

I spent 2 years justifying the unacceptable behaviour of my boyfriend before I started getting messages from the Universe. They came in the form of an advertising banner for a Taekwondo club I saw every day on my drive home from work (until I had memorized the phone number, without even realizing it). One day, I finally listened to the voice that had been speaking to me for weeks, called the club, and booked an introductory class. That day changed everything. Two years later, I achieved a black belt. And I ended the relationship with my boyfriend. For the first time, I saw how fitness could save my life.

I went on to marry a wonderful man who respects me completely.

Fitness saved my life again after I had children.

We were blessed with twins when our eldest daughter was 2. It was wonderful, but meant very little sleep or time for ourselves. I had also gained quite a bit of weight and was feeling anything but fit. One day, my husband John told me he had learned about a home workout program called P90X that he wanted to try.

Since we could do it at home, I decided to join him.

Because we could work out in our own time, we were able to fit in workouts nearly every day. ​We got results fast! And it was a solid reminder of what my body was still capable of.

I continued my fitness journey by going to Zumba classes and then becoming an instructor in 2011.

Fast forward to 2016...life handed me a few lemons over the years, but through it all I stuck with fitness. When a friend suggested I would be a good fitness coach, I thought, "Why not?". What I didn't realize was that fitness would again save my life. In November of 2017, I was laid off from my job of 20 years. But because I had been using fitness as away to make money, as well as keep me healthy, I had an opportunity to move forward into a new career and life.

If you had told my 20-year-old self that I would be doing extended side planks at the age of 51, I likely would have laughed at you. But by making a few different choices and listening to the Universe, I am stronger, healthier, and happier than I ever thought I could be.

Get more health and fitness info and inspiring stories at www.vancityfitness.net.

 

Corinne Newell is a Beachbody health and wellness coach, certified life coach, Zumba fitness instructor and soon to be Personal Trainer.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page